YOUR HAPPINESS IS IN YOUR HANDS.


To wait for someone else or to expect someone else to make my life richer or fuller or more satisfying puts me in constant state of suspension.

                                    Kathleen Tierney Andrus

Most of the time we put our lives’ happiness in someone else’ hands. Do you give away your power to be happy? Some of the ways this can be done is through thoughts like: once I get a man /woman my life will be more complete, when my husband finishes graduation school, we will be able to focus on what I want; I know I will get a raise if I manage my schedule and put in the extra-time my boss needs; am sure I will have fun when my children are through with university; and so on.

However, can changes in another person’s behavior or life really make everything better for you? If you believe this, then you probably, look outward rather than inward for your needs to be met, for your fulfillment and for your ultimate happiness. As a boat caught at sea in a storm, you are at the mercy of the elements, pounded and turned in many directions.

On the contrary, you can make your way to the safety and calmness of the harbor when you sail though life under your own power. You don’t have to wait for your partner to finish school to get your needs met. You don’t have to over work to be rewarded, you don’t have t first be involved in a relationship to be fulfilled and you don’t have to wait for your children to complete university to have fun. Decide today what you need to be happy. Ask for a raise without sacrificing your personal time. Make plans with friends when your husband is studying; enjoy life as Mr/Miss come along.    

Make your mind up not to wait for people to give you what you want or need. It’s up to you to seize the day and make it what you want.

About klungiwe

Katherine Lungiwe is a Sales executive. One of my best quote is “If it’s going to be, it’s up to you”.

Posted on January 24, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

