Be Kind and Listen

By Zig Ziglar

 

 

It has been said that it’s nice to be important, but it’s more important to be nice.  Another “oldie” is the fact that when you’re talking you’re not learning; it’s only when you listen that you learn. 

Listening will help avoid some embarrassments and might even make you some money.  As an example, when Tommy Bolt (1916-2008) was on the golf tour, he established a solid reputation for his temper.  He was known as “Thunder” and “Terrible Tommy.”  His breaking and throwing of clubs became locker room fodder and a topic for media discussion (his penchant for throwing clubs led to the adoption of a rule prohibiting such behavior).  Once, in a tournament, he drew a caddy who had a reputation for being a talker, so Tommy told him to keep quiet and restrict his answers to yes or no.

As luck would have it, one of Bolt’s shots stopped close to a tree.  In order to reach the green, he had to hit the ball under a branch and over a lake.  He carefully analyzed the situation and made a decision.  However, as it frequently happens, halfway talking to his caddy and halfway talking to himself, he asked, “Which club do you think?  Five iron?”  The caddy, having been duly warned, responded, “No, Mr. Bolt.”  Tommy’s temper and pride prompted him to say, “What do you mean, not a five iron?  Just watch this shot!”  The caddy, still following instructions, said, “No, Mr. Bolt!”  Bolt wasn’t listening.  He took dead aim, hit the shot beautifully to the green and it stopped a couple of feet from the hole.  With a look of self-satisfaction, Bolt handed the caddy his five iron and commented, “What do you think about that? And it’s o.k. for you to talk now.”  “Mr. Bolt, that wasn’t your ball,” the caddy responded. 

Hitting the wrong ball cost Tommy Bolt a two-shot penalty and lots of money.  Message: Be nice to people, especially those who serve you, listen to what they have to say and I’ll SEE YOU AT THE TOP! 

Zig Ziglar is known as America’s motivator.  He is the author of 27 books and numerous audio and video recordings.

 

Quote

 
Many people don’t know what they want because they don’t know what’s available for them.              Zig Ziglar

 

Social Media!  What’s All the HYPE About?

By Carrie Wilkerson

 
 
Don’t Wait to Figure it Out

I am a case study in, “Don’t wait until you have it figured out before you take action.”

That being said, I take massive action, and when I don’t get the results I hoped for, I evaluate, readjust, and take more massive action. This seems to work for me.

Somehow, I have grown my online audience and lists to about 100,000 people with no paid advertising. I used traditional list-building methods for building a list of 24,000 in my first 10 months online, to supplement my online and offline businesses.

Now let me tell you how I doubled that prospect list again in six months….two words – SOCIAL MEDIA!

Let me explain!

One thing that has planted itself firmly in my head since back in the day when I was in sales is “attract, don’t attack.” In other words, rather than actively going out to chase prospects down, draw them to you.

Sounds simple enough, right?

Let me clarify right now that in your online toolbox, you need several strategies, but for the sake of space and simplicity, I’ll focus on using social media to get traffic to your blogs, websites, promotions, and products.

Because I feel like confession is good for the soul… and because I want you to see me just as I am, I will tell you the truth. I’m no wizard. I don’t test and track as well as I should. I have never studied massive website  traffic or lead-generation methods and I am NOT a social media expert.

Whew. Okay, I feel better now.

What I am is a businesswoman leveraging social media for:

»    Connections
»    Credibility
»    Client Loyalty
»    Compensation (i.e., Cash)
 
Sorry  if that  shocks  you, but it’s the truth. I don’t know all the nuances of social media or WHY it works. (I also do not know how a fax machine works.) But I do know that it DOES work and I’m going to tell you how I personally utilize it for my above purposes. Deal?

Let me focus on my primary method of social media for traffic: Twitter.

For simplicity’s sake, let’s classify Twitter as the world’s largest open meeting space, a 24/hour mixer or party. You walk into the party, you select which people interest you, and you join in the conversation. The conversation moves fast, is immediate, and the topic varies depending  on whom you’re talking to. (MANY of these same principles apply to ALL forms of social media.)

Etiquette
 
While there is some widely accepted etiquette for social media, there are no hard and fast rules, and I’m certainly not going to define how you must use it here. But I will tell you that keeping the “attract, don’t attack” rule in mind will serve you well in this space.

“But Carrie, seriously – get to lead-generation and higher sales already!” Okay, here is the magical, mystical power of list-building with social media.  Are you ready?

When you focus on people, and on serving them with encouragement, valuable information, authentic interest, and introducing them to others, YOU become magnetic, drawing others to you.

People want to be in YOUR space because you are all about THEM, not YOU.

Come to the table with “What can I do for YOU?” instead of “Guess what you can do for ME.”

“Carrie, that is too warm and fuzzy. I want to know about sales traffic. How does that get people to my site, to call me for service, to buy?”
 
Now, this is not scientific, and I’ve not done tons of measuring, but my Alexa website ranking  is good, my conversions are profitable, my speaking schedule is packed, my list is growing, and the opportunities are seemingly endless. So, SOMETHING is clearly working!

Next week I will continue by expanding on what it takes to bring people to you.  Come join me in the fun world of social media!

 
Carrie Wilkerson is the voice of experience. From corporate life to teaching high school to direct sales, she has “been there and done that” professionally and personally. An “overnight mom” to two toddlers through adoption, her priorities instantly changed and so did her workplace. She’s now built several businesses and coached others to do the same while overcoming extreme debt, losing 110 lbs and having two more children, for a total of four, ages infant through 12!

As “The Barefoot Executive,” Carrie and her network of experts have quickly become the definitive resource for work at home professionals.  Follow Carrie on Twitter @Barefoot_Exec.

See Carrie LIVE on August 18, 2009.  Click here for more details.

 

The Return of Decency

By Krish Dhanam

 

 

Flying high above the mess of masses and soaring through the clouds at a comfortable cruising speed, it is easy to forget the world we live in and momentarily ignore the brashness of humanity. A jaded Judeo-Christian culture has its eminent emissaries and succinct spokespersons deliver diatribes about how we are no longer a nation of core values but an amalgam of people without boundaries and beliefs. The populace of the land that was supposed to be guided through the night with a light from above has been convinced that electoral cycles decide how to react to cultural chasms and eroding eccentricities. Amidst the seemingly chaotic rhythms of mortal mediocrity is the hole in the soul of the inhabitants of the heartland, clamoring for examples of chivalry and decency. Four decades after the spectacular landing on the moon I had the privilege of witnessing the indomitable spirit of decency that is my home, sweet home.

The journey began like any other with the obnoxious passenger in front of me destined to recline during the meal service. I was going to the city that is the home to Lady Liberty and my traveling cohort was none other than my sixteen-year-old son, so I was oblivious to the broad supply of ignorance in a metal canister that was rocketing the heavens. The crowd groaned and moaned with every bucking experience and the seat belt sign went on and off as if there would be a prize for the one who claimed the most discomfort. Then the crowd grew silent as we witnessed collectively the spectacle of human decency and the giving of all that is good in creation. If the Lord of the heavens were a passenger on a flight to Newark (there are more divine places for Him to be going to), he would have said to the flight attendant, “Well done, My good and faithful servant. What you have done to the least of these you have done to Me also.” What did she do that is worthy of mention?

A passenger with almost no mobility in ninety-plus percent of his body required the use of the facility with less than an hour to go on the flight. Any number of excuses could have been used and almost all of them would have been valid. The legal hassles if the attempt came up short, coupled with the inconvenience of slowly guiding a wheelchair down the entire aisle of the plane so that he could use the first-class cabin which had more room, for starts. Creating a makeshift screen by extending the traditional use of a curtain gave the family privacy and the aged warrior dignity. A smile on her face as she hoisted him in and out of the chair showed the compassion of Teresa of Calcutta or Nightingale of England. A modern-day angel who gets unfairly classified into the demeanor of people in her profession had risen to the challenge and deserved applause. The cameras that comment on the continued confusion in cash-strapped communities should have been there to capture the vividness of human expression as people from two cultures and different generations embraced to make one body capable of showing brotherly love. A sister with a different ethnicity grasped the frail body of a brother from a different continent to show the ultimate in compassion.

There are many moments in life when we all wish we were a fly on the wall, i.e., when momentous events shaped history like the fall of Saigon or the landing at Normandy. I am a better person for having been a passenger on that plane. I am hopeful that she is a victor beyond any accolade an itinerant writer can give her. But when I told her that God would bless her she replied, “It’s what we are called to do.” Bravo !!

Krish Dhanam  is a valued member of the Ziglar team.  He travels all across the world spreading Mr. Ziglar’s message of hope.  He is the author of The American Dream from an Indian Heart.

About klungiwe

Katherine Lungiwe is a Sales executive. One of my best quote is “If it’s going to be, it’s up to you”.

Posted on August 5, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

